RemedySpot.com

Re: Recurring illness while on Humira

Rate this topic

Guest guest

ADVICE: HAND WASHING, hand washing, hand washing.

Keep purell or other antibacterial cleanser in easy reach at all times. Notice who is sick in your classroom and be especially careful around them. Make sure you NEVER touch your eyes, mouth or nose unless you have JUST washed your hands and not touched anything else prior.

You are so right, you are probably working in one of the worst germ environments, other than a hospital.

I am a registered nurse who does assessments on patients needing rehab. I travel to several hospitals during the course of a day, and probably one of the worst things I have to do is review the chart. People touch that chart and may or may not have washed their hands. I keep a large bottle of antibacterial gel in my car. As soon as I get in the car, first thing I do is use the gel. I also wash my hands frequently and before and after every contact with patients while in the hospitals. I have also practiced my rule FOREVER about never ever touching my nose, eyes or mouth (great portals of entry for germs) in that environment. If my nose itches, I go to the bathroom and wash my hands and then I can scratch it!

I rarely get sick, and I have been on prednisone most of the year. I was on Humira until late summer when it ceased working for me. I took a dose of Rituxan that ended in a disastrous allergic reaction, and then one month later I began Orencia infusions. I have still managed to avoid getting sick (knocking on wood!)

I also take my flu shot every fall, and just about 3 weeks ago, got a pneumonia shot.