Guest guest Posted December 9, 2002 Report Share Posted December 9, 2002 i got some king island cheese today that listed milk, cream, salt, rennet, cultures in the mix what is rennet ? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 9, 2002 Report Share Posted December 9, 2002 Rennet is used to separate the curds from the whey in milk. The curds are used to make cheese. Traditionally, people used the stomach of a calf to clabber (separate) the milk. Rennet was the enzyme that was in it that was actually doing the work. It had to be a juvenile, because the enzyme is designed for digesting milk. Rennet is not the only substance that will do this. Some cheese recipes use lemon juice. If you leave the milk long enough, it will separate on its own, too. There is also vegetarian " rennet " . I don't know what it is exactly, but it doesn't come from an animal's stomach. Robin From: " yogabud <anthony_byron@...> " <anthony_byron@...> Reply- Subject: rennet in cheese Date: Mon, 09 Dec 2002 03:44:21 -0000 i got some king island cheese today that listed milk, cream, salt, rennet, cultures in the mix what is rennet ? _________________________________________________________________ MSN 8 helps eliminate e-mail viruses. Get 2 months FREE*. http://join.msn.com/?page=features/virus Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 9, 2002 Report Share Posted December 9, 2002 thanks very much robin. I was just wary of it being some man made chemical to enhance a flavour or something > Rennet is used to separate the curds from the whey in milk. The curds are > used to make cheese. Traditionally, people used the stomach of a calf to > clabber (separate) the milk. Rennet was the enzyme that was in it that was > actually doing the work. It had to be a juvenile, because the enzyme is > designed for digesting milk. > > Rennet is not the only substance that will do this. Some cheese recipes use > lemon juice. If you leave the milk long enough, it will separate on its > own, too. There is also vegetarian " rennet " . I don't know what it is > exactly, but it doesn't come from an animal's stomach. > > > Robin > > > > From: " yogabud <anthony_byron@m...> " <anthony_byron@m...> > Reply- > > Subject: rennet in cheese > Date: Mon, 09 Dec 2002 03:44:21 -0000 > > i got some king island cheese today that listed > milk, cream, salt, rennet, cultures in the mix > > what is rennet ? > > > > > _________________________________________________________________ > MSN 8 helps eliminate e-mail viruses. Get 2 months FREE*. > http://join.msn.com/?page=features/virus Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 11, 2002 Report Share Posted December 11, 2002 At 10:57 PM 12/8/02 -0500, you wrote: There is also vegetarian " rennet " . I don't know what it is >exactly, but it doesn't come from an animal's stomach. > > >Robin My Encyclopedia of Country Living by Carla Emery says there is milk curdling ability in yellow lady's bedstraw,nettle, lemon and common sorrel, fumitory, unripe fig sap, or giant purple thistle. Nettle and thistle work best. All Compasitae thistles have curdling ability.Is best in giant, thorny kinds. Globe artichoke, same family will work. Vegetable rennet never acts as fast. Wanita Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.