RemedySpot.com

What has worked for me

Rate this topic

Guest guest

I must empasize that this is what has worked for me over my 14 year journey with fibro and may not help all. I also had a spinal fusion in 1998 which causes much of my pain and some osteoarthritis along with chronic myofascial pain. But I went from living on pain meds and muscle relaxants daily to now being off all pain meds (other than lidoderm patches and compounded pain cream) and doing an average of 4 miles of aerobic walking daily:

1. For me stress is the number one contributor to my pain and flare ups. I was a teacher for 30 years so stress was a given. What really gave me my life back was going to a Christian psychologist in 2001 who used hypnotherapy and guided imagery to deal with stress and knock it out. I continue to meditate or do guided relaxation with deep breathing daily.

2. Trigger point release or myofascial release massotherapy along with physical therapy.

3. Magnesium malate with malic acid, vitamin D3, zyflamend (an herbal anti-inflamatory) for pain and inflammation and rhodiola which has done an extraordinary job in increasing my energy.

4. Daily range of motion and stretching exercises done each morning as soon as I wake up.

5. Chiropractic care.

6. Developing a personal relationship with God.

7. Doing volunteer work- I visit shut ins for my church.

8. Journaling my feelings daily for several months- particularly repressed emotions.

I don't claim this will work for everyone, but it worked for me. But I do think everyone has to find a way of dealing with stress or you will never feel better because stress keeps you in the fight or flight mode all the time. I must admit that retiring from teaching also helped as that was a main source of stress for me. I loved the kids but hated the governments interference in education that left many of my first graders frustrated and sick from all the tests.