RemedySpot.com

Hi, new with some questions

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Hi! My name is Esther, I have two kids - Brendon is 2 and Hypatia is

1. (26 months (almost) and just turned 1.) My husband is Steve.

Brendon is in Help Me Grow because everyone suspects an ASD. We have

a Dev Ped appointment (our second one) on the third, so maybe it will

be an official diagnosis?

So - I'm still trying to figure out message boards, but I know

all sorts of other boards - go figure, right?

What does this group entail? What's the prevailing thought process

about Autism here? I see a lot of posts about Biomedical stuff - does

that mean everyone's trying to cure Autism here?

I have to admit, I'm a total newbie in the Autism world. But the

floks on MDC brought up a valid point - that Autism could simply be a

variation on the norm, and that there's nothing to cure. It would be

like trying to " cure " someone of perfect pitch. I have to admit, I

LIKE that logic. But I'm still trying to figure out what this all MEANS.

So - any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Hi, and welcome to the group!

IMO, the diagnosis is ASD until and if you and your docs ever find out what's really wrong with your kiddo. My son is 6 and 1/2 and pretty severely affected. I have tried many biomedical and educational/therapeutic interventions with him, with little windows of hope opening up, but then quickly closing back in. I believe we just haven't found all of the causes for HIM ALONE that other children with ASD may not have. He just started having seaizures not long ago, and they found a cyst on his brain. Not big enough to consider 'significant' and pursue it surgically (I am still going to get a 3rd and 4th opinion on this) but you have to wonder. What I read about these cysts from verbal adults having them, the symptoms can range from visual and auditory disturbances to hallucinations, difficulty with speech, memory loss, temporary and/or specific, learning issues,