Re: HELP!- Do i have B12 deficiency?

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Hi Hayley, I'm no expert but notice your posting has gone unanswered for

a while. Please wait for a moderator to confirm my treatment advice. I

have all of your symptoms and Sheila advised me to address my B12 and

Ferritin levels.

My B12 came back at 348ng/L (189-883) and needs to be at the top end.

My Ferritin was 55ug/L (22-275) and needs to be above 150 at the

minimum. So, on comparing my levels to yours, even though male/female

levels are slightly different you do need to supplement.

I was advised to raise the Ferritin with 200mgs of Ferrous Sulphate and

increase the B12 with METHYLCOBALAMIN, not cyanocobalamin, preferably

sublingual lozenges.

Like you too, I'm on my own and wouldn't have received the needed help

if it wasn't for TPA.

Take care, Bill

>

> Hi everyone,

Guest guest

Hi Bill,

sorry to butt in on your conversation with Hayley! But I'm wondering how you

are getting on with the supplementation and if it is helping? My B12 was 219,

and the advice on here was that this is way too low and I should take 1000mcg a

day sublingually, but unfortunately I can't get that dose here in brunei and

it's not permitted to mailorder supplements (all parcels are checked by customs

so you can't just hope you'll get away with it). I saw a dr today, hoping she

would prescribe a high dose B12 but she said she thought that although my level

wasn't high, it wasn't a real cause for concern and thought that high dose

supplementation may be harmful, so she's trialling a low dose of thyroxine with

me for a month. I was hoping that a real boost of B12 might make enough

difference to everything else so I could avoid starting on thyroxine. I'd be

really keen to hear how you have got on with your highdose B12

supplementation... please let me know, as it would be good to be able to quote

someone else's experience when I go back to the dr.

Thanks,