RemedySpot.com

BCC

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Hi all...am hoping that you can help!

I am a student health visitor coming towards the end of my training (although we

still have so much uni work to do, it's difficult to see how close to the end we

all are!)

I've heard the term 'building community capacity' but struggling to find out

about it - can anyone help?? I (as have all of my student colleagues) an

interview coming up and I need to do a 10 minute presentation on it and how I

plan to deliver it. I understand its part of the health visiting " Call for

Action " , and we are having a couple of taught sessions on it, but unfortunately

weeks after my interview! Very frustrating!

I look forward to any help you can give!

Angie

Guest guest

I would agree , I think HVs have been doing this for many years as part of their role. Unfortunatly, however due to costs and limited resourses many do not have the time to take on this role anymore.

I think over the years people have stopped thinking for themselves as so much has been done for them, it is therefore up to us to re educate and facilitate them to start to take some control over lifes events.( and their health of course)

Pat

From: Coles <lisa@...> Sent: Saturday, 30 June 2012, 18:27Subject: RE: BCC

Can’t help remembering helping local mothers start and get training for running their own mother and toddler group all those years ago – is this not just another name for something health visitors have always done?

From: [mailto: ] On Behalf Of liz.plastow@...Sent: 30 June 2012 17:45SENATESubject: Re: BCC