RemedySpot.com

BCC

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Hi all...am hoping that you can help!

I am a student health visitor coming towards the end of my training (although we

still have so much uni work to do, it's difficult to see how close to the end we

all are!)

I've heard the term 'building community capacity' but struggling to find out

about it - can anyone help?? I (as have all of my student colleagues) an

interview coming up and I need to do a 10 minute presentation on it and how I

plan to deliver it. I understand its part of the health visiting " Call for

Action " , and we are having a couple of taught sessions on it, but unfortunately

weeks after my interview! Very frustrating!

I look forward to any help you can give!

Angie

Guest guest

Hi Angie,

Within your 10 minute presentation I think you need to mention the work that has been developing for some years now within the Library Service.

Many libraries offer story time sessions for children where at the same time parents and sometimes grand parents can get to know each other and develop supportive friendships , many offer sessions for

people with mental health problems helping to build confidence and encourage reflection on the stresses and strains of life and relationships.

Many libraries have had a wide range of user friendly health and social care books. Now the " O-5 Child Health Book " being only available " on-line " is - for many parents - only available to them in the Local

Library where the computer services are free and well maintained.

Over the past few months the " ARTS COUNCIL " has become the strategy lead for the Library Service in the UK and it is clear from the wide range of entries on the developing blog ( go to Arts Council website and enter

Library Consultation in the SEARCH box to find the blog ) that the most thoughtful and committed librarians in the UK are fully committed to the need to use libraries to develop " community capacity " .