RemedySpot.com

Jeroen's post about Type 1 and Type 2

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Hi to all the new people in the group.About a 16 months ago Jeroen - who has a degree in medicine - posted thismessage in connection with a strand of conversation.It is very nicely written and easy to understand - so I thought I would postit again so that new people in the group can benefit from it.RegardsShireen MohandesLondon, England> Sent: 11 November 2005 14:13> blepharophimosis > Subject: blepharophimosis Type I or type II? Recent developments.> > Hi everybody,> > I read the recent posts about type I and type II BPES and > infertility. I noticed that there are a lot of questions and > uncertainties. Maybe I can clarify one and other. I have a > degree in medicine and although I am now specializing in > psychiatry, I am familiar with general medicine matters. > Moreover, recently I spoke with Dr. Debaere, who's a world > expert on genetic research in BPES.> > First I'd like to explain something about genetics. Humans > have 46 chromosomes. We have 2 Sex chromosomes, XX (female) > or XY (male), and 44 autosomal chromosomes. Each parent > Passes 23 chromosomes (22 autosomal and 1 sex chromosome) so > you get 23 chromosome "couples". > Chromosomes consist of DNA. Specific regions on chromosomes > are called genes. There are a lot of genes (eye-colour, > hair-colour, ... > etc). In our cells there is a sophisticated system that can > translate the information which is encoded in the DNA, the > building material of genes, and form proteins. So a gene > actually stands for a specific protein (like there is a gene > for insulin). How do genetic disorders arise? Genetic > disorders arise when there is a mutation (change) in the DNA > within a specific gene region. This alters the gene and, > thus, alters the protein which is formed. This is important. > For example insulin which is different from normal insulin > might not be able to lower blood sugar levels. Once a geneti