RemedySpot.com

Valediction

Rate this topic

Guest guest

I’ve thought for a while I should resign from Braintrainer since I’ve stopped doing any neurofeedback except Jeff Carmen’s PIR HEG. I thought I would share with you my reasons and my experience, if you will forgive this lengthy post.I am a psychologist, 40 years in the business, cognitively and behaviorally oriented, trained in a traditional PhD program with a solid research bent. I’ve been doing psychotherapy one way or another for a long time and i first encountered biofeedback by reading Neal ’s pathbreaking reports from Rockefeller University. I got some stand alone equipment (remember Autogen) and tried my hand at it. But there were too many dials, too many adjustments too many variables and no record keeping. I gave it up for many years. Then in 1974 I read Barry Sterman’s incredible results using Skinnerian techniques to train EEG in cats, then immediately switching to reducing seizures in humans. I was blown away. I thought sure he would win a Nobel Prize. Ha! Years passed and there was not a squeak from the media. Then in 1997 I saw an ad from the Othmer group showing Barry to be the scientific adviser. I followed up and saw that they had a system purporting to train the brain to produce waves consistent with calm, or to energize a sluggish brain. I took their training near Boston and was incredibly excited. I set out to transfer my practice entirely to doing EEG Biofeedback using the methods they had taught. Train Beta up at C3, train SMR up at C4 after doing a kind of assessment of the symptoms brought to the office. I can well remember the feeling of learning to place electrodes and try to make sense of the signal on the monitor before me.I had the usual trouble with setting up and getting clean records but my real trouble was deciphering the patient’s response. Most were perplexed but eager to succeed. I could not seem to titrate the training frequencies by the patient’s response. I saw and hear