RemedySpot.com

The link between night lights and cancer

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Dr. Ben Kim's Natural Health NewsletterAugust 1, 2008

Dear Reader,

Back when I was a student, I would sometimes treatmyself on weekends by getting half a dozen fresh bagels and a small container of herb-infused creamcheese at a local bagel shop.

Eating fresh bagels with a decadent cream cheese all weekend long never left me feeling so healthy, buthey, I was young and lonely, and it was the typeof indulgence that probably kept me from getting overwhelmed by my growing student loans and beingshort of funds most of the time.

These days, when I find myself thinking about cream cheese, I usually whip up a batch by combining cashews, fine extra-virgin olive oil, and a few other ingredients.

The result is a delicious, dairy-free version ofcream cheese that's totally satisfying and keepsme feeling strong and healthy.

For a look at the healthy cream cheese recipethat I follow, view:

Healthy Cream Cheese Recipe

For a look at the special cashews from Brazil that we use in our home, view:

Raw, Organic Cashews from Brazil

Earlier this year, an article in The WashingtonPost summarized the results of an interestingIsraeli study that indicates that women who live in areas that are highly illuminated at night are more likely to develop breast cancer than womenwho live in neighborhoods that are darker at night.

This study supports the hypothesis that melatonin,a hormone that is produced by your body mainly atnight, is capable of suppressing the growth oftumor cells.

This is something that I've written about before; if you'd like to get more information on thistopic, please feel free to view the followingarticles:

Importance of Sleeping in Darkness

Problems with Shift Work and Irregular Sleep