Rate this topic

Guest guest

Hi Sam

Steroids can cause many side effects, hormonal issues, etc so my guess

would be the prednisone. Flovent is also a steroid, not as strong as

prednisone, but it is a maintenance medicine and not meant to be gone

off and on like that. You don't stop taking it when you feel better

because asthmatics can still be inflamed even with no symptoms. The

Xopenex on the other hand should be taken as directed as needed.

If she recently stopped the prednisone I would give it some time to

get out her system, several weeks. If you find the hair loss still

occurring that severely I would try switching from the Flovent to a

different maintenance steroid and see if it helps.

Hope she feels better soon.

>

> HI everyone! I'm new to this message board and just wanted to ask a

few questions to see if

> anyone has had similar side effects. My daughter was diagnosed in

August with asthma and

> started using albuterol. After having very bad side effects, the

doc switched her to xopenex.

> At the time she was diagnosed she also had RSV and was really

struggling so they put her on

> prenisone. Once the RSV was gone she quit doing all meds for awhile

but then a few weeks

> later she got sick again. I notice now that she is in school she

has had to use her inhaler alot.

> Her doc put her on another inhaler called flovent to help get

through the winter months but I

> only give it to her when I notice she starts to cough. The thing

that really concerns me is that

> since September she has lost over 1/2 of her hair. We had all major

testing done to make

> sure there was nothing more serious wrong and everything came back

ok. We went to a

> dermatologist and they found nothing wrong with her from that end.

They concluded that it

> was stress related and I don't believe them! I wanted to know if

anyone has had any hair loss

> associate with the meds they are taking.

>

> Thank you so much for your time.

>

> Sam

>