RemedySpot.com

Re: Re: Food IgG Panel results/IEP services

Rate this topic

Guest guest

As a special ed teacher, I can tell you the school will provide you with a "potty assistant" if she qualifies for something called "OHI" or if she qualifies based on academic need (for an IEP). However, it's incredibly tricky and difficult to get kids qualified on academic need when they're so young (unless there's an obvious delay). If she's a smartie and doing relatively well compared to her peers, you're better bet is OHI ("other health impairment"). Kids can qualify for this label (and, yes, it's a label that will be on her permanent record) based on medical need - if her physical symptoms interfere with her learning ability, she qualifies. For instance, several kids I know (in my building), have food allergies that are severe enough that they qualify...nevermind they could change their diet (no one looks at that), they get services. So, I don't know if you're working with a doctor (doesn't need to be a traditional med doctor, it just needs to be someone with a Dr. in front of their name - we often use our chiro), but that person could be a huge advocate for her services, if you choose this route. On a personal note, we used this route for our son during his early school years - I talked the school out of an IEP (didn't want the permanent label), but we had everything else - including the bathroom assistance. We used the school nurse who helped him regulate his needs. We had butt wipes, extra pull-ups, diapers, underwear and clothes for him at school. The teacher was aware of his needs, I taught her what to look for behaviorally that would indicate his bathroom needs and we all worked together. Now, he's in 4th grade, we continue to work with the classroom teacher, but he's a lot more aware of his needs, so we've backed of school services a little. It was a lot of work, frustration and some tears, but it was my son and it's a public school. I was adamant they would provide