RemedySpot.com

Re: Synhtroid after SSRIs use

Rate this topic

Guest guest

IIRC, you have elevated or high estrogen (estradiol) ? High estrogen/estradiol causes higher levels of copper, and copper slows down the thyroid, hence it might be the reason you have an under-active thyroid after quitting the SSRI. I'm not a doctor though.

Copper slows down the thyroid, while zinc speeds up the thyroid.

As Dr no stated on a forum, dopamine and serotonin are tied to the hip - when one goes down, the other goes up. When one goes up, the other goes down. Suddenly stopping the SSRI can cause a sudden drop in serotonin (according to the rat study in the link below), and theoretically this would cause a high increase in dopamine which would then cause a high testosterone level (Dr no has stated that increasing dopamine causes testosterone to increase, and increasing testosterone causes dopamine to increase). The body converts any excess testosterone into estradiol, thus causing an increased estradiol level, which causes an increased copper level. As copper goes up, zinc goes down (and vice versa, as zinc goes up, copper goes down). High estradiol can cause many of the symptoms of PSSD.

http://ithyroid.com/copper.htm (scroll down in this link to get to the main article)

http://www.ithyroid.com/zinc.htm

Perhaps tapering off the SSRI too quickly also causes depleted serotonin.

BTW, the body uses the amino acid L-Tyrosine to make thyroid hormones.

I'm wondering who else in the group, besides yourself, has symptoms of hypothyroidism (under-active thyroid) which includes the following symptoms, i.e. low energy, getting tired easily, problems with memory and concentration, low libido, feeling the cold easily, weight gain, carpal tunnel syndrome (which causes pains and numbness in the hand), etc.