RemedySpot.com

Re: nipple creams

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Yes. Have been using it for years. I call it "Jan's Cheap Nipple Ointment." Tom Hale calls it "Tom's Cheap Nipple Ointment." (He discussed it at ILCA about 4 years ago). I've been using it for at least 10 -12 years. I like it because you can adjust the dosages.

A dab of antibiotic ointment (Polysporin)

A dab of antifungal ointment

A dab of hydrocortisone

Mix in the palm of your (clean) hand and apply. You can use it with the hydrocortisone for a day or two, and if still needed take the hydrocortisone out.

Jan Barger, RN, MA, IBCLC, FILCAMy blog Year of the MC

Does anyone recommend a recipe for APNO that uses over the counter ingredients?Make your life easier with all your friends, email, and favorite sites in one place. Try it now.

i have recommended equal parts miconazole, polysporin, and cortizone 10 for an over the counter version...

but OINTMENTs - not creams

[sPAM] nipple creams

Hello All,Does anyone recommend olive oil for sore nipples?Does anyone recommend a recipe for APNO that uses over the counter ingredients?Thanks,Aria Baker

Isn't it missing the analgesic (pain reliever)? If one of the mom's issues

is very sore nipples this could not really hit all her sypmptoms. I have a

mom like that right now. She is coming back in on Monday. She has been

using a home-remedy version of ointment with what several have

recommended, that was recommended to her by the hospital LC. She is still

in a lot of pain.

So, we have more work to do on latch, she may also have worsening

Vasospasm (as she did with the first baby for 8 weeks). But, anyway, my

partner and I were discussing the " homemade " ointment and taking about the

fact that it doesn't include a pain-reliever and wondering how much of a

difference that makes.

I would love your opinions.

And I LOVE this list!!!!

Micky

> Yes. Have been using it for years. I call it " Jan's Cheap Nipple