Guest guest Posted March 23, 2004 Report Share Posted March 23, 2004 Just in case you thought I was being paranoid about contamination: ----------------------------------------------------------- You can access this entire article at: http://my.webmd.com/content/Article/84/98081.htm Study: Wheat-Free Foods May Contain Wheat As Much as 20% of Wheat-Free Foods Contain Detectable Amount of Wheat Protei= ns By Schorr WebMD Medical News Reviewed By Brunilda Nazario, MD on Monday, March 22, 2004 March 22, 2004 (San Francisco) -- One fifth of=20 common grocery foods labeled wheat-free or=20 gluten-free may actually contain significant=20 amounts of wheat protein, a concern for people=20 with wheat allergies. " Caution must be taken when eating foods labeled=20 gluten-free, " says Lardizabal, a graduate=20 student at the Food Allergy Research and Resource=20 Program at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln.=20 She presented her findings at the Annual Meeting=20 of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & =20 Immunology. Although frequently underdiagnosed, about one in=20 every 150 people in the U.S. is affected by=20 allergies to gluten -- found in rye, wheat, oats,=20 and barley. Doctor's call this condition gluten=20 sensitivity or celiac sprue. There is no single standard for defining a=20 gluten-free product. Therefore, the researchers=20 conducted their study to find out the levels of=20 wheat proteins in all types of foods. The researchers tested 140 different food samples=20 purchased at the grocery store to see whether=20 people who suffer from gluten sensitivity could=20 safely eat them. The researchers tested a variety of products=20 likely to contain wheat, including gums, alcohol,=20 soy sauce, vinegars, and malt liquors, as well as=20 " wheat-free " products. Overall, 16% of the=20 products tested contained wheat proteins. Most disturbingly, Lardizabal reports that 20% of=20 the products labeled wheat-free actually=20 contained some wheat protein -- even exceeding=20 current labeling guidelines for gluten free. In products considered non-wheat, such as chicken=20 bouillon, corn cereal, and caramel ice cream=20 topping, about 15% still contained some wheat=20 proteins, most likely from cross-contamination=20 during processing, she says. All of the malt products contained wheat=20 proteins; however, none of the alcohol products=20 or gums contained any wheat protein. " The good news is dietary choices are not as=20 restricted as assumed, " she says. " Food gums and=20 distilled products are expected to be safe. " =20 However, patients with gluten sensitivity should=20 not eat wheat starches, malt syrup, or extracts. " This is in line with other studies that have=20 shown there are contaminates, " Wesley Burks, a=20 professor of pediatrics at Duke University, who=20 moderated the session, tells WebMD. " Be aware. If=20 you are eating something that says it's=20 wheat-free but [you're] having symptoms, talk to=20 your physician. " Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.