Guest guest Posted March 10, 2004 Report Share Posted March 10, 2004 This is from the celiac list, for anyone who is interested -- most of us don't use packaged products much, but if you are GF Passover products are kind of handy. Enjoy! -- Heidi Jean ================= PASSOVER IS A CELIAC'S DREAM 1. Your in luck b/c Passover is an amazing thing for celiacs. Basically everything Kosher for Passover is GF, EXCEPT for anything with matzoh meal. I know this sounds weird, but there are certain Jewish sects that don't even eat products made with matzah meal over Passover. So there are tons of products that are made without any matzah and therefore are GF. These products are all labeled non-gebrok (meaning no matzah). If you live in an area where there are a lot of Jews, there may be a Kosher grocery store. You can find tons of products that are GF, ranging from yogurt to cheese to salad dressings, etc. All these products are made without any grains and the vinegars used and foods starches used are all made from potatoes. They even have amazing (though full of sugar) desserts, made only from potato starch. A great bakery that makes kosher for Passover desserts and even states they are GF is called schicks. Their web site is schicksbakery.com. You should check it out. Passover is a haven for celiacs. Just read labels and stay away from any products that contain matzah meal. 2. I know a lot of celiacs who pine away for Passover time to stock up on grain free chocolate chips, margarine, baking powder, etc. I buy all the chips and such we can have for a year -- my four celiac children like chocolate chip cookies like everyone else -- and when we run out, we're out. 3. actually, there are lots of gf passover foods. i stock up on some things at passover for the whole year, since they need to be made without the 4 grains. just check to make sure there is no matza meal. there is even gf certified oat matza. there's gefilte fish also. just look for the words " non-gebreucht " and it won't have matza meal. so many things are made with potato starch instead- even some blintzes. and they are actually good. also remember that the " u " inside the " o " is not enough. it needs to say " P " inside the " U " and be " non gebreucht " to not have the matza meal in the recipe. also lots of desserts are in this category. --------------------------------------- LOOK FOR BAKED GOODS MADE FROM OTHER THINGS 1. Just look for the Kosher for Passover label. Cakes are made from almond paste or a nut base or potato starch. 2. Also the potato pancake mixes are ok. Potato starch boxes have some recipes on them (banana bread and sponge cake). -------------------------- ALTERNATIVES TO MATZOH (FOR THE SEDER) I use " Ho-Grain " crackers, made out of rice, as matzah. I make " matzah " brie (yum!), " matzah " stuffing with mushrooms and onions... I find " Ho-Grain " crackers at my heath food store...Wild Oats or Whole Foods should have them. ----------------------------- MANISCHEWITZ HAS A GF LIST Manischewitz kindly posts a gluten-free product list -- here's the direct link to that page: http://www.manischewitz.com/docs/man_150.shtml -------------------------------------- HERE ARE SOME SPECIFIC PRODUCTS BY SPECIFIC COMPANIES Leibers makes GF matzah ball soup mix. There are GF potato and vegetable blintzes. Gefilte fish is a tough one, but, I hear there is a GF one. There are a ton of prepared baked goods made with potato starch. There is Gf Matzah! Yes, made in Israel by a Dr. who found a rare strain of oats and super-refined them to make for his CD daughter. Kosher markets will know about it. It costs about $18 a box though! ---------------------------- LOOK FOR NON GEBROKS " Kedem gefilte fish for Passover " has NO matzah meal...buy Pesach Crumbs by Paskesz Candy Co (Brooklyn NY) and make the matzah ball recipe from the side(seltzer is the key)they are very good. Many Kosher food stores have things without flour or matzah meal (NON GEBROKS), Schicks Kosher for Passover baked goods for Pesach (from NY #718-436-8020 but sold in our Chgo area kosher store) are GF and taste like the real thing we used to be able to eat.(I buy it now and keep them for the year). There are Passover ice cream cones made by Tovli out of Brooklyn N.Y. which you can then use all year. We also make our own gluten free Matzoh. Start by making your own general purpose gluten free flour: 2 parts white rice flour to 2/3 part potato starch flour to 1/3 part tapioca flour (this flour can be used all year round for a number of gluten free treats). To make the matzot, mix approx. 1 part water to 3 parts flour. Ther result should be a " dough " that feels more like play-do than the familiar elastic feel of real bread dough. Form the dough into balls roughly the size of golf balls. Place each ball on a non-stick cooking sheet and roll out to paper thinness. I usually put a piece of waxed paper over the dough before using the rolling pin to prevent sticking (you might also have to dust them with a little of the dry flour mix). The finished product must be quite thin. Poke holes in the flat sheets. Bake at about 375 degrees until they turn golden brown. Time varies depending on the thickness of the dough, so you just have to keep an eye on them. Don't expect them to look like Manishevitz matzot when done. They'll look more like large, irregular shaped crackers. We take comfort in feeling this is more like what our ancestors ate than what you buy in the supermarket. If you're going to attempt to be true to the kosher method of making these, no more than 18 minutes may elapse from the touch of the water to putting the matzot in the oven. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.