Jump to content
RemedySpot.com

Glutenator ?

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

Heidi,

Mercola's newsletter has allergy article along with a Primal Defense ad which he

is now selling http://www.mercola.com/forms/primal_defense.htm

Says Primal Defense is wheat free but it's superfood blend contains barley grass

juice and oat grass juice. Do the grass juices of allergen grains eliminate the

allergens? Barley is one of the 3 avoids for gluten wheat, barley, rye. Oat is

different but similar.

Wanita

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

This is a good question. I was told wheat grass is okay for gluten

intolerant people to drink. And here I am just starting my son on Primal

Defense as he does better off casein too. I will discontinue until I hear

it is okay.

Also, I am designing the local DFW WAPF Website this weekend, so I will

conserve posts by replying about the corn chips here. The chips are those

Guiltless Gourmet organic ones. The bag is gone, but I think they do use a

bit of oil; what kind I can find out later. I think they are just corn, not

masa harina. But I must confess, I DID eat a lot of food that night. And

beans were part of the meal too :->

Peace,

Deanna

---------------------------------------

Heidi,

Mercola's newsletter has allergy article along with a Primal Defense ad

which he is now selling http://www.mercola.com/forms/primal_defense.htm

Says Primal Defense is wheat free but it's superfood blend contains barley

grass juice and oat grass juice. Do the grass juices of allergen grains

eliminate the allergens? Barley is one of the 3 avoids for gluten wheat,

barley, rye. Oat is different but similar.

Wanita

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

>Heidi,

>

>Mercola's newsletter has allergy article along with a Primal Defense ad which

he is now selling

<http://www.mercola.com/forms/primal_defense.htm>http://www.mercola.com/forms/pr\

imal_defense.htm

>Says Primal Defense is wheat free but it's superfood blend contains barley

grass juice and oat grass juice. Do the grass juices of allergen grains

eliminate the allergens? Barley is one of the 3 avoids for gluten wheat, barley,

rye. Oat is different but similar.

>

>Wanita

It's one of those controversial things. In theory, the grass shouldn't have

gluten

in it. Sprouted barley shouldn't either, really -- but that's what they make

malt out

of, and a lot of people react to malt, even though the amount of gluten has

GOT to be infinitesimal.

What I don't understand is why they don't just use some other grass ...

I don't think wheat or barley is all THAT different, at the grass stage,

from a bunch of other grasses that aren't so allergenic.

BTW oats are generally OK IF they aren't contaminated. But all the

oats grown in the US are probably contaminated (unless you grow

your own).

-- The Glutenator

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

>Also, I am designing the local DFW WAPF Website this weekend, so I will

>conserve posts by replying about the corn chips here. The chips are those

>Guiltless Gourmet organic ones. The bag is gone, but I think they do use a

>bit of oil; what kind I can find out later. I think they are just corn, not

>masa harina. But I must confess, I DID eat a lot of food that night. And

>beans were part of the meal too :->

>

>Peace,

>Deanna

Well, then it might be you ate too many, or they were contaminated.

Rice crackers usually do me in, but not homemade rice crackers ...

and they have very few ingredients, and I don't eat many of them,

and they have no oils. I figure they are probably made in the same

factory as a lot of glutenated stuff, but it might be the baking process

too.

-- Heidi Jean

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

Do the grass juices of allergen grains eliminate the allergens?

> >Wanita

>

>In theory, the grass shouldn't have gluten

> in it. Sprouted barley shouldn't either, really -- but that's what they make

malt out

> of, and a lot of people react to malt, even though the amount of gluten has

> GOT to be infinitesimal.

-- The Glutenator

Most of the body of the grain kernel remains intact when barley is malted.

It's just sprouted a bit to get the grain to make amylase enzymes and then dried

and crushed.

The root has barely started to grow out of the kernel by then.

I would expect gluten to still be in the sprouted grain as it has only just

started to sprout really.

Bruce

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...