Guest guest Posted March 26, 2004 Report Share Posted March 26, 2004 @@@@@@@@@@@ > Wouldn't the gluten in well cultured and fermented foods be a non- issue? I > mean it seems more complicated than if x has y then do not eat. An example > would be trans fatty acids- it is found in very minute amounts in nature > (highly quality raw dairy), but I don't think it should be avoided because > of it. > > -Terry @@@@@@@@@@@ The trans fats in milk and meat are not the same trans fats as you get from partially hydrogenated vegetable oil--different molecular structure--and, in fact, the health benefits of the trans fats in milk/meat (CLA) are one of the hottest topics these days and have spurred a new fetish for the pill pushers... On the other hand, the wheat gluten that might curiously appear in a fermented food is the same wheat gluten that is harmful in even the tiniest amounts to a special subset of people with gluten issues, and I don't know of any reason to assume it would be adequately transformed during fermentation. Some proteins are hydrolyzed in some fermentations; some aren't. Fermentation is far from a panacea. (By the way, rawness has nothing to do with CLA--it's not affected by cooking, and I believe some studies have shown higher bioavailability for cooked hamburger...) Mike SE Pennsylvania The best way to predict the future is to invent it. --Alan Kay Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.