Jump to content
RemedySpot.com

lactose vs. casein intolerance

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

ok. do i have this straight?

if you're casein intolerant, you can't have any cow dairy in any form

except ghee (not cheese, not kefir, not milk, etc etc). if you're lactose

intolerant, you only can't have milk and icecream, but you likely *can*

tolerate cheese, kefir, and possibly yogurt...

is that right?

-katja

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

>if you're casein intolerant, you can't have any cow dairy in any form

>except ghee (not cheese, not kefir, not milk, etc etc). if you're lactose

>intolerant, you only can't have milk and icecream, but you likely *can*

>tolerate cheese, kefir, and possibly yogurt...

>

>is that right?

>

>-katja

Right. Actually they did a study once with lactose intolerant folks (who don't

produce the enzyme " lactase " which digests lactose). In that, they found

most of them could actually drink a glass of milk with no symptoms ... that

is, SOME lactose was ok, but not a lot of it. Also if you are lactose intolerant

you can take some lactase with the meal and probably be ok (Lactaid). Lactose

intolerance is a digestive issue ... casein " intolerant " is more of an

allergic-style

reaction where the immune system reacts too strongly to casein.

Really, the words we use for this stuff aren't very good, they need to

invent words that are more specific.

-- Heidi Jean

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

thanks!! i've been trying to explain this in terms of what to expect might

be relieved by gluten-free-ness...and this helps clear it up! :)

-katja

At 11:40 AM 4/23/2004, you wrote:

>

>

> >if you're casein intolerant, you can't have any cow dairy in any form

> >except ghee (not cheese, not kefir, not milk, etc etc). if you're lactose

> >intolerant, you only can't have milk and icecream, but you likely *can*

> >tolerate cheese, kefir, and possibly yogurt...

> >

> >is that right?

> >

> >-katja

>

>Right. Actually they did a study once with lactose intolerant folks (who don't

>produce the enzyme " lactase " which digests lactose). In that, they found

>most of them could actually drink a glass of milk with no symptoms ... that

>is, SOME lactose was ok, but not a lot of it. Also if you are lactose

>intolerant

>you can take some lactase with the meal and probably be ok (Lactaid). Lactose

>intolerance is a digestive issue ... casein " intolerant " is more of an

>allergic-style

>reaction where the immune system reacts too strongly to casein.

>

>Really, the words we use for this stuff aren't very good, they need to

>invent words that are more specific.

>

>-- Heidi Jean

>

>

>

>

>

>

>

>

>

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...