Jump to content
RemedySpot.com

Re: Green superfood - Garden of Life

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

>Hi

>It is called a green superfood, and it contains barleygrass and

>wheatgrass - but it does also contain grains and seeds, and the

>barley and rye are listed in this section.

>

>So now I'm even more confused! <g>

>

>Jo

Some people believe barley and rye do not contain

gluten, they may be one of those. The problem is,

" gluten " means " the protein part of a grain " ... any

grain. All grains have gluten, even corn. But the type

of gluten that causes most problems is gliadin in wheat,

hordein (in rye, I think) and another one in barley, which

are often lumped together under the term " gluten " .

Newman is one of those who is anti-wheat, but uses

oats and barley and maybe spelt. When I was in my 20's,

I bought into that, and used rye for bread. But for

reactive people, rye and barley are as bad as wheat.

A portion of their proteins is identical to that of wheat,

and it triggers the same auto-immune reaction.

For non-reactive people, it is likely better to avoid

wheat also (it can cause gut damage, apparently, even

in non-reactive folks because of the way it gloms onto

the villi) in which case rye and barley are probably better.

About a third of the US population is reactive, tho to

varying degrees.

-- Heidi Jean

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...