RemedySpot.com

Re: Protocol Decision Trees

Rate this topic

Guest guest

I was not aware that there were protocol decision trees devised by trainers on this site. They are a great idea and, on reflection, I should not have been surprised that it is being done, and probably continues to be done. Are they proprietary -- even in an informal sense? I have no interest in them personally because I'm a home trainer with one "client". For most others on the list they clearly provide a quick and convenient way to select a reasonable or effective protocol(s) in any given situation. I know that the phrase "scientific credibility" makes some people on this list shudder but sharing and comparing listmember's protocols is a great systematic way to continuously winnow out the "bad", or less effective. ones and improve on those that work. Not quite the same as a "double-blind study", refereed and published in a

publication with some credibility, but considering the (to me) baffling resistance to that kind of study, it's the next best thing. nick mammano PhD. Chemical Physics (title listed so you know "where I'm coming from") Can anyone share their protocol decesion trees with me. I want to compare them with mine.Thanks--Chris

I think that we all want to make the best protocol selections for

our patients/clients. The Othmer's were among the first to use decision

trees / flow charts to guide protocol selections. Their basic premises

are still valid today as are the protocols. Many heuristics have been

developed over time and all have some validity. That being said, the

devil is in the details. A decision tree / flowchart can take you down

the wrong path, too.

While a protocol decision tree/flowchart can be helpful, I

believe that a better protocol selection process involves " triangulation "

where a decision tree / flowchart is one of multiple inputs. Do the

history, symptoms, and indications all point to the same thing? What