RemedySpot.com

Re: Training Device

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

I'm no expert obviously :) but I think that's still young and she is still working it out.  It's highly possible she'll have a rough time (disgraphia) with writing, but it's possible that she won't.  My now 10 year old son had a very very difficult time with writing.  He wound up getting some OT just for that, and had a grip, etc that helped a lot. In fact, this year his handwriting improved to the degree I thought I would never see!  But, it did take intervention, practice, and tools. 

I'd keep an eye on it, and if it doesn't change any within this year, then yes, I'd do something to help.  But, I feel bad even offering advice since I'm not an OT. lol!

Does anyone have a take on whether to use a pencil holding

training device vs. just letting them hold it the way it feels natural to them?

My daughter 4.5 year old has a hard time holding

pencils and utensils. She can write all of our names but it is hardly legible.

She also has a hard time holding silverware properly. I have tried to teach her

how to hold them properly, but I am afraid if I push her she will regress.

Often she wants to make a fist and puts the pencil,

crayon, pen or whatever in the center of her fist and write like that. She does like to scribble and when she colors she wants to stay in the lines but is all over the place. She holds the silverware the same except she tilts her wrist differently to eat.

Thanks for advance  

Guest guest

Thanks , I appreciate your advice. Don't feel bad, sometimes parental advice is just as good (if not more practical) as the professionals. Especially when you are speaking from experience. She has a strong desire to write. You will not find her without a pad of paper and pen. To: autism-aspergers Sent: Tuesday, July 10, 2012 8:51 AM Subject: Re: Training Device