RemedySpot.com

Fw: prostate cancer research

Rate this topic

Guest guest

prostate cancer research

Snowdon 500 - A Charity Challenge for prostate cancer research 17 May 2008

Hi

I hope you won't mind be e mailing you but I wondered whether you would be able to promote / advertise the Snowdon 500 charity event through your support group in case anyone might be interested in joining us for this unique and exciting fundraising event.

First of all let me introduce myself. My name is Matt Rannamets, I'm a retired tax inspector who was diagnosed with prostate cancer in January 2004 with a PSA of 153 and a Gleason score of 8 (4+4). My initial prognosis was poor and my Consultant urolgist gave me two / three years as the cancer had clearly spread beyond the prostate and to the pelvic lymph nodes. I was however referred to University College London under the care of a most wonderful consultant oncologist who refused to give up on me and came up with a strategy of curative intent rather than palliative management. In November / December 2004 She organised and orchestrated a procedure known as HDR Bracytherapy followed by an intensive course of external beam radiotherapy and the results have been remarkable. My PSA went down to 0.2 and there are no visible signs of cancer anywhere. Last June I stopped taking hormone drugs (Casodex and Zoladex) and so while nothing is ever certain I feel able to look forward to the future in a very positive way.