RemedySpot.com

Re: Re: Comparing Relapse Survival of Biopsy Gleason Scores 3 & 4, etc.

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Didn’t bat an eye: -) I just

wondered how many laparoscopic prostatectomy procedures were carried out at “our

institution.”

All the best

Terry Herbert

I have no medical

qualifications but I was diagnosed in ‘96: and have learned a bit since

then.

My sites are at www.yananow.net and www.prostatecancerwatchfulwaiting.co.za

Dr

“Snuffy” Myers : " As a physician, I am painfully aware that most of

the decisions we make with regard to prostate cancer are made with inadequate

data "

From: ProstateCancerSupport [mailto:ProstateCancerSupport ] On Behalf Of mccartney_7

Sent: Sunday, 30 November 2008

4:51 PM

To: ProstateCancerSupport

Subject:

Re: Comparing Relapse Survival of Biopsy Gleason Scores 3 & 4, etc.

This was an eye opener to say the least:

snip>>Data at our institution as well as a recently published article

in the Journal of Clinical Oncology have shown inferior outcomes for

laparoscopic prostatectomy. <<snip

The York and Harrogate groups had a talk by 2 urologists who do the full radical, the big knitting needle job (laproscopic) and Da Vinci robotic. They reckoned that there was no difference in long and medium term effects, but as can be expected the shorter the cut the less short term impacts of the operation.

RE: Re: Comparing Relapse Survival of Biopsy Gleason Scores 3 & 4, etc.

Didn’t bat an eye: -) I just wondered how many laparoscopic prostatectomy procedures were carried out at “our institution.”

All the best

Terry Herbert

I have no medical qualifications but I was diagnosed in ‘96: and have learned a bit since then.

Dr “Snuffy” Myers : "As a physician, I am painfully aware that most of the decisions we make with regard to prostate cancer are made with inadequate data"