Guest guest Posted March 19, 2008 Report Share Posted March 19, 2008 A friend bought some " gluten-free oatmeal " from her co-op. Anyone know how this is possible, or indeed if it is? Danae Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 19, 2008 Report Share Posted March 19, 2008 danaecooks@... wrote: > A friend bought some " gluten-free oatmeal " from her co-op. Anyone know how this is possible, or indeed if it is? > > Danae Not everyone is completely satisfied as to whether or not the avenin in oats is safe for someone with gluten sensitive enteropathy to eat, but there are studies that indicate the possibility that most could safely consume them. <http://www.celiac.com/articles/204/1/Five-Year-Follow-Up-Study-Finds-Oats-Suita\ ble-for-Celiacs/Page1.html> There are several companies who are growing oats in areas that have never grown wheat, processing them in dedicated facilities and have their products certified gluten free by means of ALISA testing. Bob's Red Mill sells some, as well as http://www.glutenfreeoats.com. The Gluten Intolerance Group takes the position it is safe for most people with celiac, but that you should check with your doctor and proceed with caution. HTH! --s Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.