RemedySpot.com

Re: Dogs and Christmas and Holidays

Rate this topic

Guest guest

It seems to me--and I am a former dog trainer--that short, usually one-word or one-sound consistentlycommands work well with dogs. Dogs just do not understand "Oh, Good Grief, Rover, why the h*** don't you getout of my way! Can't you see that I am trying to get to thebathroom?" Etc. So long as consistency is used, most dogs respond to short commands: Move, Down, Go!Com! etc. Our youngest child discovered however, that, when the largest dog was in the way, that "Beep-Beep!"worked better than "Back!" Hand gestures are helpful,to go with "Up!" "Down," provided that we humans donot get too confused. We did learn that we had to betrained, too:1) put all food way up high or in the refrigerator or freezer;2) do not

leave food wrappers, candy wrappers, etc. on floor;3) a desperate dog will even eat fresh fruit or pry open a can;it pays to have cupboards and high shelves--with no chairsnear them.The pathetic look on the family dog's or dogs' faces as one eats holiday candy is pathetic, but chocolate andcaffeine are supposed to be very bad for dogs, so we usually kept small dog biscuits around to console them.My dogs now live with friends nearby. I always think as Ispill something in the kitchen that the dog will get it--thenit dawns on me--no dog in the apartment! Kind of sad,when one has lived all one's life with dogs.Love,n, whose mother raised Kerry Blue Terriers for show--and they are very, very smart!