Guest guest Posted November 23, 2000 Report Share Posted November 23, 2000 At 11:58 AM 11/23/2000 -0500, you wrote: >Under the section that talks about buckwheat it says " Buckwheat contains >a gluten analog which can affect some people with food allergies, so use >it cautiously at first. " > >I have heard others say it was ok to use buckwheat. What does the " gluten >analog " mean? Does it have gluten or not? or does this mean that is just >contains something similar to gluten ... allowing it to " glue " together >when cooking cakes, breads, etc? Defining gluten can be somewhat confusing as it has become the generic term for a protein found in wheat, rye, triticale, spelt , kamut, barley, and oats. In fact, it is the portion of gluten molecule called the prolamins which is toxic for celiacs. The prolamins are gliadin in wheat, secalin in rye, horedin in barley and evedin in oats. Confusion arises when the word gluten is used in conjunction with corn or rice (corn gluten, glutinous rice). Technically speaking corn and rice do have a form of gluten but THEY DO NOT have the toxic portion and are acceptable on a gluten free diet. As for the term " gluten analog " , you'd have to speak to the author it could mean many things. Uncontaminated Buckwheat is gluten free. It is OK on a GF provided you are not sensitive to it. It's important to remember that reactions to gluten in ASD and Celiac are not typical " allergies " although they are auto-immune related. ---------------------------------------------- Jay Bigam Webmaster/Marketing Manager Kinnikinnick Foods Inc. www.kinnikinnick.com Toll Free: 1- Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.