Guest guest Posted September 25, 2000 Report Share Posted September 25, 2000 At 10:00 PM 9/24/2000 -0400, you wrote: >I don't remember which list server advised me that Millet might be a >substitute for rice flour, but anyway I was talking to a friend today who >has a celiac's daughter, and she said the celiac's info she has says > >NO NO to millet. SIGH! Millet, Quinoa, amaranth (jowar) and buckwheat are all gluten free. At a recent meeting of celiacs in Norwood, MA, which I attended, Dr. Green of Columbia University, a leading researcher in celiac disease stated that " without question " , uncontaminated sources of these products are gluten free and should be considered healthy and viable options for those on a gf diet. The following is excerpted from Grains in Relation to Celiac (Coeliac) Disease by D. Kasarda. Ph.D. " There is no reason for celiac patients to avoid plant foods that are very distantly related to wheat. These include buckwheat, quinoa, amaranth, and rapeseed oil (canola). Some celiac patients might suffer allergies or other adverse reactions to these grains or foodstuffs made from them, but there is currently no scientific basis for saying that these allergies or adverse reactions have anything to do with celiac disease. A celiac patient may have an allergy to milk, but that does not mean that all celiac patients will have an adverse reaction to milk. " ---------------------------------------------- Jay Bigam Webmaster/Marketing Manager Kinnikinnick Foods Inc. www.kinnikinnick.com Toll Free: 1- Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.