RemedySpot.com

You're FIRED! Is being a well informed patient ''obnoxious'?

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Guest guest

Thought this was interesting and too good not to pass on, (from a newsletter I get) and there may be a time when we need to say to our physicians ''You're fired''.. (not vice versa as in this story) as long as it's based on a good solid foundation & legitimate information. Just remember no one cares as much about YOU as you do yourself. You give respect, but you also expect and deserve respect. ;)

Dee

=======================================

Is being a well-informed patient "obnoxious"?

February 25, 2008

Dear Friend, A lot has changed in the healthcare profession since I graduated from med school. Not just in terms of advancements in medicine, but also in the culture of medicine. I just came across a story that rankled me quite a bit because it flies in the face of everything that I was taught when I was learning my profession – and everything I'm routinely preaching when I write to you. According to a story I read on CNN.com, Dr. Golden, an allergist in Baltimore "fired" one of his patients for "being obnoxious." Sounds fair enough, right? But wait until you hear about the patient's behavior that was giving this allergist a rash. After Dr. Golden had recommended a medication for his patient's cough, the patient questioned the possible side effects of the drug. Dr. Golden tried to convince his patient that the side effects of the drug weren't bad. "But he wasn't open to discussing anything,"