Guest guest Posted March 23, 2002 Report Share Posted March 23, 2002 , You're absolutely right! Before I even read your post today I did a double check at the store. I had confused tempeh with seitan, which is wheat gluten. However, I'd be careful with soy sauces. Some brands are more " pure " than others. Some cheaper ones contain malt and/or carmel for flavor/color, and small amounts of alcohol as a preservative. While malt is usually from barley, the other two can come from grains, which may or may/not contain wheat. I've read the labels on many soy sauces. Some, like Chun King, barely qualify as soy sauce, and are best described as soy-sauce-like condiments. Personally, I stick with the San-J Wheat Free, which contains a small amount of preservative alcohol from corn. There are other good brands as well, but many more contain wheat than don't. Good for you for reading those labels! Suzi __________________________________________________ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.