Guest guest Posted March 22, 2002 Report Share Posted March 22, 2002 Suzi and others, Just want to clarify two misleading items in Suzi's posts cited below. First, while it is true that many soy sauces contain wheat, it is not true that the " only " ones that don't will say " wheat free " on the label. Kroger brand is an example of a wheat free soy sauce that is not labeled as being wheat free. If you are not sure about a soy sauce, call the manufacturer. Second, about tempeh: tempeh is not fermented wheat gluten. Tempeh is made from ground soybeans, formed into a cake, innoculated with a " starter " , and aged for a couple days until an edible mold forms which binds the cake together. While some manufacturers do include grains in with the soybeans (rice being the most common), wheat in tempeh would be the exception rather than the rule. White Wave, for example, has about five flavors of tempeh which are gluten free. M. Suzi Wrote: > Just for the record -- most soy sauces contain much > more wheat than soy (check the label). Fermented wheat > may be the problem, rather than soy. The only soy > sauces that don't contain wheat are labeled > " wheat-free " and are mostly found in speciality > stores. and later: > I'm pretty sure that tempeh is fermented wheat > gluten... it could be problematic to folks avoid > wheat, gluten, or fermented foods. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.