Guest guest Posted May 7, 2002 Report Share Posted May 7, 2002 Celiac.com is a respected resource for people with either celiac or an allergy to wheat. Here is their list of what contains/may contain gluten. Some of these items are annotated, and if you're interested in finding out more, you should go to the website. Some of the annotated items include the notation that an ingredient (like citric acid, for example) is gluten free if manufactured one way, but not gluten-free if manufactured another. Current food labeling doesn't require food processors to list that information on consumer labels. As a result, some sodas (for example) are considered gluten free, others are not. If you have a question, a call to the manufacturer's 800 number is a good idea. This is a question food and cosmetic manufacturers are used to answering. Suzi Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum) Alcohol (Spirits - Specific Types) Artificial Color4 Artificial Flavoring6 Baking Powder2 Barley Grass (can contain seeds) Barley Hordeum vulgare Barley Malt Beer Bleached Flour Blue Cheese (made with bread) Bran Bread Flour Brewer's Yeast Brown Flour Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts) Bulgur Wheat Calcium Caseinate (Contains MSG) Caramel Color3 Cereal Binding Chilton Citric Acid4 Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum) Coloring Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum) Couscous Dextrins1 Durum wheat (Triticum durum) Edible Starch Einkorn (Triticum monococcum) Emmer (Triticum dicoccon) Farina Graham Filler Flavoring6 Food Starch Fu (dried wheat gluten) Germ Glutamate (Free) Glutamic Acid Glutamine (amino acid) Graham Flour Granary Flour Gravy Cubes4 Groats (barley, wheat) Ground Spices4 Gum Base Hard Wheat Hydrolyzed Plant Protein (HPP)4 Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP)4 Inulin4 Kamut (Pasta wheat) Malt Malt Extract Malt Syrup Malt Flavoring Malt Vinegar Miso4 Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum) Matzo Semolina Modified Food Starch4 Modified Starch4 Mono and Diglycerides2 MSG (Made outside USA)4 Mustard Powder 4 Natural Flavoring6 Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum) Pasta Pearl Barley Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum) Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum) Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum) Rice Malt (contains barley or Koji) Rye Seitan Semolina Semolina Triticum Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum) Shoyu (soy sauce)4 Small Spelt Soba Noodles4 Sodium Caseinate (Contains MSG) Soy Sauce Spirits (Specific Types) Spelt (Triticum spelta) Sprouted Wheat or Barley Starch4 Stock Cubes4 Strong Flour Suet in Packets Tabbouleh Teriyaki Sauce Textured Vegetable Protein - TVP Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii) Triticale X triticosecale Udon (wheat noodles) Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum) Vegetable Starch Vinegars (Specific Types) Vitamins4 Wheat Triticum aestivum Wheat Nuts Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum Wheat, Bulgur Wheat Durum Triticum Wheat Triticum Monococcum Wheat Starch5 Wheat Germ (oil) Wheat Grass (can contain seeds) Whole-Meal Flour Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim) Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides) __________________________________________________ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.