Guest guest Posted March 29, 2001 Report Share Posted March 29, 2001 Shari - U = parve - does not mean blessed by the rabbi. Parve means a food is neither milk nor meat, but can be eaten with either or. " U " inside a circle means Union of Orthodox Rabbis. This means the food meets the criteria for the Orthodox level of kashruth (keeping kosher), and that it has been inspected by a " mashgiach " - a specially trained religious food inspector, who doesn't have to be a rabbi. Kosher for Passover means it is kosher for the 8-day duration of this holiday, which means it has no corn or soy, but it may have gluten if it is made with matzoh meal. So, you have to check ingredients very carefully. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted March 30, 2001 Report Share Posted March 30, 2001 Speaking of passover someone once mentioned that Shaw's brand chocolate chips were gfcf during this time. Which ones were they? The semi-sweet and milk chocolate were the only ones I saw at the store. Thanks MA Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted April 4, 2001 Report Share Posted April 4, 2001 This subject is still so confusing for me. I understand that if the item is marked with a " U " or " K " inside a circle and says " parve " , that means there is no dairy or meat - and if it is marked with a " D " next to the kosher symbol, that means it contains dairy - and " DE " means it is processed on Dairy Equipment. So if it is only marked with a " U " or " K " inside a circle and not marked with " parve " , " D " or " DE " , what does that mean? Is there dairy in the or not? Does any one know the answer to this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted April 4, 2001 Report Share Posted April 4, 2001 -We ended up contaminating our son using a gluten free bread mix which was marked Kosher but contained dairy. Yes it is confusing. Help please. Thanks Charlie -- In GFCFKids@y..., tmevoy@a... wrote: > This subject is still so confusing for me. I understand that if the item is marked with a " U " or " K " inside a circle and says " parve " , that means there is no dairy or meat - and if it is marked with a " D " next to the kosher symbol, that means it contains dairy - and " DE " means it is processed on Dairy Equipment. So if it is only marked with a " U " or " K " inside a circle and not marked with " parve " , " D " or " DE " , what does that mean? Is there dairy in the or not? Does any one know the answer to this? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.