Guest guest Posted April 9, 2001 Report Share Posted April 9, 2001 Here's a strange one. The Glutano brand of crackers and cookies are great if you have had the chance to try them. They are imported from the UK (I think they are made in Germany though). The products clearly state " Gluten free " all over the place and the brand has been around Europe for some time. However, some of the products list " sweet whey powder " as an ingredient. My impression is that this is a gluten. I know it wouldn't be the first time a product that said gluten free, wasn't. Maybe something is lost in the ingredient translation? Does anyone have any knowledge on this product line? Maybe someone in Europe? Thanks. -Mark Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted April 9, 2001 Report Share Posted April 9, 2001 * Mark - sweet whey powder is a definite NO. But it is casein, not gluten. in New York * On Tue, 10 Apr 2001 03:41:15 -0000 spelly@... writes: time. However, some of the products > list " sweet whey powder " as an ingredient. My impression is that > this is a gluten. > -Mark > ________________________________________________________________ GET INTERNET ACCESS FROM JUNO! Juno offers FREE or PREMIUM Internet access for less! Join Juno today! For your FREE software, visit: http://dl.www.juno.com/get/tagj. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted April 10, 2001 Report Share Posted April 10, 2001 Whey is casein, not gluten so the product is appropriately labeled. I've learned to read all labels because of that issue. I found some wonderful gluten free products, but they're not casein free. Glutano has several products that are both GF & CF. Hope this helps. ( & Malachi's mom) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.