Guest guest Posted May 7, 2001 Report Share Posted May 7, 2001 Greetings all! Just back from Disney in Orlando (summary coming in the next couple of days) and while I was there one of the EVIL restaurants got me hooked on Tofutti ice cream... I found some while I was in Orlando that was labelled " No gluten added " , so I bought some.. then I started eating it...and it said.. " May contain traces of gluten " .. I freaked out..but it didn't stop me from finishing it off..I figured if I'd already eaten some, I might as well get REALLY sick, rather than just sorta sick.. ;-) I didn't get sick at all...no complications. Now, in our house we are peanut allergic...anaphylaxis peanut allergic (or so they say)...so if something says " May contain traces of peanuts " or " processed on machinery with nut products " or something like that..I run like the plague.... The question is...to Tofutti or not to Tofutti...they don't add gluten..but how do we know that they're safe enough to eat? should I give it to my kids...(It didn't make my one son sick either...but he's never really been exposed to gluten so I don't know what he'd do if he had some-my other son can have dairy..so he doesn't need to have a sub)... I know..some people say..well, to each his own...and we do that SOMETIMES...like for example..I let my diagnosed son use Claritin..it seems to help him..and the only potential contamination point is the corn starch, which the majority of corn starch producers in the US guarantee GF...so I'm ok with that...but I'm not sure what to do here... So, I guess I'm asking for personal opinion and experience... btw...if anyone has any ice " cream " (using something other than cow/goat milk dairy), I'd love them... Thanks! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 7, 2001 Report Share Posted May 7, 2001 If you have no soy issues, the BEST ice " cream " sub I've tried is WholeSoy. The website says " All WholeSoy products are 100% vegan and gluten and casein free " Pretty easy testimonial. I am not sure I would have known the difference if they were side by side. I highly recommend trying it. Their website is www.wholesoy.com Good Luck! -a mom to Alec 7 (nt) and Billy 4 yo w/autism > Greetings all! > Just back from Disney in Orlando (summary coming in the next couple of > days) and while I was there one of the EVIL restaurants got me hooked on > Tofutti ice cream... > > I found some while I was in Orlando that was labelled > " No gluten added " , so I bought some.. > then I started eating it...and it said.. > > " May contain traces of gluten " .. > > I freaked out..but it didn't stop me from finishing it off..I figured if > I'd already eaten some, I might as well get REALLY sick, rather than > just sorta sick.. ;-) > > I didn't get sick at all...no complications. > > Now, in our house we are peanut allergic...anaphylaxis peanut allergic > (or so they say)...so if something says " May contain traces of peanuts " > or " processed on machinery with nut products " or something like that..I > run like the plague.... > > The question is...to Tofutti or not to Tofutti...they don't add > gluten..but how do we know that they're safe enough to eat? should I > give it to my kids...(It didn't make my one son sick either...but he's > never really been exposed to gluten so I don't know what he'd do if he > had some-my other son can have dairy..so he doesn't need to have a > sub)... > I know..some people say..well, to each his own...and we do that > SOMETIMES...like for example..I let my diagnosed son use Claritin..it > seems to help him..and the only potential contamination point is the > corn starch, which the majority of corn starch producers in the US > guarantee GF...so I'm ok with that...but I'm not sure what to do here... > > So, I guess I'm asking for personal opinion and experience... > btw...if anyone has any ice " cream " (using something other than cow/goat > milk dairy), I'd love them... > > Thanks! > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted May 7, 2001 Report Share Posted May 7, 2001 * We don't use Tofutti stuff (my son is allergic to soy) so for icecream replacements we use " Sharons Sorbet " which you can get in most supermarkets, Pathmark, Waldbaums and Kink Kullen. We also use which is much cheaper from Trader Joes " Double Rainbow " sorbet. I only know about the chocolate and the mangotangerine flavors as GFCF, I didn't verify the other flavors. Both brands and the flavors we use are really good. on Long Island New York * ________________________________________________________________ GET INTERNET ACCESS FROM JUNO! Juno offers FREE or PREMIUM Internet access for less! Join Juno today! For your FREE software, visit: http://dl.www.juno.com/get/tagj. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.