Guest guest Posted April 19, 2001 Report Share Posted April 19, 2001 Right, malt flavor was also on the ingredients list, but my mother didn't know to look out for it. At least they listed it. --- eazik@... wrote: > Rice Krispies also contain barley malt as a > sweetener, so they are > not GF either. Sorry to break the news to you, but > just wanted to > warn you. > > -a mom to Alec 7 (nt) and Billy 4 yo w/autism > > > > Here's a lesson for us all about natural > flavorings: > > > > Sunday, my parents brought over Easter baskets for > my > > kids. In 's (14 onth old GFCF) there was > a > > small cannister of Kellogg's Snack 'Ums Rice > Krispies > > Treats Krunch. My Mom had read the ingredients, > and > > although she can't read well without her glasses, > > nothing seemed to pose a problem. I read the > label > > before I gave him any, and at the bottom of the > > nutritional labelling it says CONTAINS A MILK > > INGREDIENT. The only ingredient listed that could > > contain milk is the " natural flavorings " . To sum > it > > up, manufacturer's are not required to warn you of > > milk or wheat ingredients, so we must call, call, > call > > religiously to check these " natural flavorings " > out. > > I have no idea how many times I have made the same > > mistake and have given my child " natural > flavorings " , > > only to be poisoning his system. > > > > Mother to Andy, 4 (NT) > > and , 14 months (GFCF) > > > > __________________________________________________ > > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.