Guest guest Posted April 11, 2001 Report Share Posted April 11, 2001 As we all know, the labels of all products must be read all of the time to insure the ingredients do not contain any gluten or casein. Manufacturers do change ingredients without warning and can do so the day after the company has been called to verify that a product is gluten and casein free. Certain unacceptable ingredients may be hidden under other names, such as modified food starch which is a vague term which does not indicate the source of the starch (wheat or corn). Keeping this information in mind, we now proceed to individual concerns about possible cross contamination issues. This is certainly a legitimate concern which may affect some children adversely. This adverse reaction may occur from miniscule amounts of gluten and casein which may occasionally be found in manufacturing facilities that do not use dedicated lines for making gluten and casein free products, (in spite of thorough sterilization of manufacturing lines.) Most manufacturers insist that their production lines are thoroughly washed and sterilized in between batches. This cleaning process is acceptable to the majority of GFCF individuals. However, if your child is one that cannot tolerate gluten/casein even in the most minuscule amounts, this type of manufacturing facility would not be recommended. There are only two companies that I am personally aware of that use dedicated lines for manufacturing their GFCF products. (Miss Roben's and Kinnikinnick Foods) If there are other companies I am unaware of, please post that information. In order to expand the diet selection of the foods that are available to our children, we must rely on each other for information about products that we believe to be acceptable for our children's diet. These foods encompass a great variety of foods from different manufacturers. I have never found any large company who will 100% guarantee that their products are totally GFCF (and this is mostly due to cross contamination issues). The list of GFCF Foods would be greatly reduced if our guidelines excluded these companies. Therefore, we all remain vigilent, constantly reading and searching for acceptable GFCF products to feed our children. General Mills does state, at this time, if a product contains a known allergen, such as wheat or dairy it will appear in BOLD black letters on the box label. However, this product may still be unacceptable to some of you, because they still will not 100% guarantee that any of their products are GFCF. This may be a personal decision based on cross contamination issues and a need for a 100% guarantee from the company. The label on French Toast Crunch Cereal does not state any known allergen warning. The ingredients of the product follows: CORN MEAL, SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, SALT, DICALCIUM PHOSPHATE, BROWN SUGAR SYRUP, BAKING SODA, CINNAMON, COLOR ADDED, ZINC AND IRON (MINERAL NUTRIENTS), ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, VITAMIN C (SODIUM ASCORBATE), A B VITAMIN(NIACINAMIDE), VITAMIN B6 (PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE), VITAMIN B2 (RIBOFLAVIN), VITAMIN B1 (THIAMIN MONONITRATE), VITAMIN A (PALMITATE), A B VITAMIN (FOLIC ACID), VITAMIN B12, VITAMIN D. - Judy DeHart www.gfcfdiet.com mailto:comments@... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.