Guest guest Posted April 5, 2001 Report Share Posted April 5, 2001 Hi everyone! I have never kept kosher myself, but I did some research last week because of a problem I had with a food label that I was POSITIVE couldn't have dairy products. Here's what I found. There are different organizations that certify foods as Kosher and some do it differently than others. I was looking at & Sons Rice Snaps, which a K with the " D " marking on the outside. The vegetable variety contains NOTHING that should contain dairy. So I went to a Kosher website and was reminded that the company might mark it with a " D " if it is on the same mfg line as dairy products ( " DE " is sometimes used too). A food must be made on a *completely* separate piece of equipment to be considered " safe " to have with meat. If ANYTHING with dairy is mfg on that equipment it HAS to be indicated as being dairy (or " contaminated " with dairy). For very strict Kosher keeping, it can be almost as hard as GFCF, huh?! Anyway, the way that I finally decided that the Rice Snaps, while made on the same line as the Cheddar snaps, did not contain dairy in and of itself. WHY???? Because if you also look, they are listed as being VEGAN (not vegeterian). Any food that is VEGAN cannot contain any dairy derivatives whatsoever (hence...soymage & tofutti vegan slices are one of the only ones without casein because they are marked as VEGAN.) Anyway, the BEST bet is always to check with the manufacturer, but don't be put off immediately by the " D " on a Kosher label...it may not be what you think. And unfortunately for all of us, there are VERY few foods that are completely free from cross contamination issues. Good luck and let me know if anyone has any questions about what I've posted here. -a - mom to Alec, 7 (nt) and Billy - 4 yo w/autism Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.