Guest guest Posted May 13, 2001 Report Share Posted May 13, 2001 Can someone tell me a reference where I can find out if certain ingredients are casein or not? I have tried GFCFdiet but it didn't have specific ingredients that could contain or do contain casein. For example, calcium phosphate? If you could just point me to a reference site I would appreciate it. Starting to read these labels are pretty confusing!! I will be going gluten free in the weeks ahead as well but taking it one thing at a time. *********************************** Don't know much of what sites to go to, but I had saved this in one of my folders that was once posted on here. As far as calcium phosphate - it is listed as an acceptable additive according to the printable list on the GFCF Diet website. Hope this helps some. on Long Island New York * Milk-Free Diet - Avoid foods with these ingredients: annatto color * butter butter - artificial butter * butter - artificial butter flavor * butter - butter fat butter - butter oil butter - buttermilk butter - natural butter butter - natural butter flavor * caramel * caramel color * caramel flavoring * carrageenan * casein caseinate caseinate - ammonium caseinate caseinate - calcium caseinate caseinate - magnesium caseinate caseinate - potassium caseinate caseinate - sodium caseinate cheese cheese - ingredients with cheese as part of the name Ex: cheddar cheese chocolate * coffee whiteners * cottage cheese cream curds custard * dairy flavoring * flavoring - artificial butter flavor * flavoring - bavarian cream flavoring * flavoring - brown sugar flavoring * flavoring - caramel flavoring * flavoring - coconut cream flavoring * flavoring - natural butter flavor * flavoring - natural flavors * ghee half & half=A8 high protein flour * hydrolized - hydrolized casein hydrolized - hydrolized milk protein hydrolized - hydrolized protein * hydrolized - hydrolized vegetable protein * hydrolized - hydrolized whey hydrolized - hydrolized whey protein ice cream lactalbumin lactalbumin - lactalbumin phosphate lactate * lactate - calcium lactate * lactoglobulin lactose lactulose margarine * mayonaise * milk - acidophilus milk milk - buttermilk milk - condensed milk milk - cultured milk milk - dried milk milk - evaporated milk milk - goat's milk milk - low-fat milk milk - malted milk milk - milk derivative milk - milk powder milk - milk protein milk - milk solids milk - non-fat milk milk - powdered milk milk - sheep's milk milk - skimmed milk milk - skim milk powder milk - sour milk solids milk - whole milk natural flavors * non-dairy creamer * nougat pudding * rennet rennet casein seasonings * sherbet simplesse=A8 * sour cream sour cream solids sour milk solids tomato paste * whey whey - all forms of whey whey - delactosed whey whey - hydrolized whey whey - hydrolized whey powder whey - powdered whey whey - sweet whey whey - whey concentrate whey - whey powder whey - whey protein yogurt yogurt powder * May contain milk protein. Check with manufacturer to be sure.: " D " on a label next to " K " or " U " in a circle may indicate presence of milk protein Avoid " deli " meats, because the slicers frequently are used to cut both meat and cheese products. Also, some deli meats contain milk. This list is a combination of lists from several sources including: The Food Allergy Network Laurie Carson Hazel Green Various postings mostly from the no-milk mailing list at SJU My own list and private email messages - Roger Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.