Jump to content
RemedySpot.com

Re: Re: food questions

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

> And I thought that anything that had the word " malt " in it, was

> derived from BARLEY!!! Are you positive about that?

> Thanks, Cristina-WA

Maltodextrin is derived from corn.

a

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

This is from the www.Celiac.com web site.

Maltodextrin is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by

partial hydrolysis of corn starch or potato starch with safe and suitable

acids and enzymes. (1) Maltodextrin, when listed on food sold in the USA,

must be (per FDA regulation) made from corn or potato. This rule does NOT

apply to vitamin or mineral supplements and medications. (2)  Kasarda

Ph.D., a research chemist specializing on grain proteins, of the United

States Department of Agriculture, found that all maltodextrins in the USA are

made from corn starch, using enzymes that are NOT derived from wheat, rye,

barley, or oats. On that basis he believes that celiacs need not be too

concerned about maltodextrins, though he cautions that there is no guarantee

that a manufacturer won't change their process to use wheat starch or a

gluten-based enzyme in the future. (3) - May 1997 Sprue-Nik News

I hope this is helpful.

Sharon

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

If they won't guarantee it, I think we should heed ' advice to

verify source each time! (as per 's letter!)

Beth R.

....though he cautions that there is no

> guarantee

> that a manufacturer won't change their process to use wheat starch

> or a

> gluten-based enzyme in the future. (3) - May 1997

(Maybe some already have done this! I would worry about this)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

>>>>>>>This is from the www.Celiac.com web site.

Maltodextrin is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by

partial hydrolysis of corn starch or potato starch with safe and suitable

acids and enzymes. (1) Maltodextrin, when listed on food sold in the USA,

must be (per FDA regulation) made from corn or potato. This rule does NOT

apply to vitamin or mineral supplements and medications

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...