Jump to content
RemedySpot.com

Re: Gluten free questions

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

Guest guest

My daughter has never had a problem with the millet bread and we have

major gluten issues. Any contamination and she act like a mad woman.

From the celiac website:

In conclusion, scientific knowledge of celiac disease, including

knowledge of the proteins that cause the problem, and the grains that

contain these proteins, is in a continuing state of development.

There is much that remains to be done. Nevertheless, steady progress

has been made over the years. As far as I know, the following

statements are a valid description of the state of our knowledge:

>>Spelt or spelta and Kamut are wheats. They have proteins toxic to

celiac patients and should be avoided just as bread wheat, durum

wheat, rye, barley, and triticale should be avoided.

>>Rice and corn (maize) are not toxic to celiac patients.

>>Certain cereal grains, such as various millets, sorghum, teff,

ragi, and Job's tears are close enough in their genetic relationship

to corn to make it likely that these grains are safe for celiac

patients to eat. However, significant scientific studies have not

been carried out for these latter grains.

>>There is no reason for celiac patients to avoid plant foods that

are very distantly related to wheat. These include buckwheat, quinoa,

amaranth, and rapeseed oil (canola). Some celiac patients might

suffer allergies or other adverse reactions to these grains or

foodstuffs made from them, but there is currently no scientific basis

for saying that these allergies or adverse reactions have anything to

do with celiac disease. A celiac patient may have an allergy to milk,

but that does not mean that all celiac patients will have an adverse

reaction to milk. Again, however, scientific studies are absent or

minimal for these dicots.

> Ok, I have had my son on this diet for months now-I just got a

gluten

> free information packet in the mail and I am afraid it just

confused

> me. ANYONE with celiac{JAY} or any one else please shed some light

on

> this. This comes from the Celiac sprue Association of America-

things

> to avoid on a gluten free diet -first category grains-they list all

> the usuals plus QUINOA,MILLET,BUCKWHEAT,AMARANTH,AND TEFF. ok HELP

> why are these here-arent they GF? under the category of other

things

> to avoid-RICE SYRUP,INVERT SYRUP,ENRICHED WHITE RICE{SAYS IT CAN

> CONTAIN BARLEY} whaaaat? and it says to avoid guar gum-is it not

GF?

> Its in alot of GF labeled products. Oh please help me someone

> completely confused, Are the above grains and additives GF or not.

> F

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

,

No surprise you are confused. For one, the diet is not all black and white.

And two,

while the celiac diet has finally been made a bit easier by the recent work

of several dieticians, it is only very recent. Prior to this there were

some large areas of gray as to what is safe (GF). And the three main Celiac

groups that explain the diet were not in consensus. Adding to this

confusion, CSA/USA (the Celiac sprue Association of America) tends to write

their information in a somewhat confusing matter which makes things worse.

For the record, as long as no risk of cross contamination exists, QUINOA,

MILLET, BUCKWHEAT, AMARANTH, AND TEFF are considered GF. However, spelt,

kamut, and triticale are NOT GF. Oats are still controversial, the main

issue being whether or not a pure uncontaminated source could be obtained.

See the article under www.celiac.com about this for a great explanation of

where it stands.

As for RICE SYRUP, INVERT SYRUP, ENRICHED WHITE RICE and such the issue is

that it MAY need to be checked to ensure GF status. They are red flag terms

like " natural flavorings " that mean you want to check further as SOMETIMES

they MAY contain GF (read: not always). Guar gum and canola oil are items

that CSA/USA reports has caused GI issues for many Celiacs. Again, not all

and not because it is not GF but because of other issues (guar is higher in

fiber, some celiacs are sensitive to canola/rapeseed).

The OTHER (female) Jay

Jay

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Guest guest

Innocent until proven guilty, then? What if the " guilty " status emerges

later, I wonder? Oh, well, I won't stress about it too much, either.

On Fri, 27 Jul 2001 07:39:49 -0700 " Foland "

writes:

> According to the site I just went to Amaranth,millet teff quinoa and

> buckwheat are considered safe. The problems whith the grains is

> there has

> been no official studies on these grains in relation to celiac-but

> again

> they consider them safe on a gluten free diet. I am resting just a

> bit

> easier now. F

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...