Guest guest Posted August 20, 2001 Report Share Posted August 20, 2001 Wheat free and gluten free are not the same in the UK. Products containing wheat starch are legally considered gluten free. In Europe a special kind of wheat starch is permissable in the gluten free products sold here. That is why I always tell parents on the UK list that GFCF is in some ways a misnomer. The diet should be called the entireley FREE from, wheat, rye, barley, oats, mammalian milks and ALL their derivatives diet. Plus, to make sure the product is free from the previous list. Pamela Bray UK > > Hi Deb, but these people are saying that even though something is > gluten > > free it still has to be wheat free. I thought if its gluten free > then > > its free of it all. I know if its wheat free it could still have > gluten, > > but they say if its gluten free it could still have wheat. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.