RemedySpot.com

Sherrie

Rate this topic

Guest guest

Sherrie, welcome to the group. You have found a wonderful place here. Also welcome to the other new members who we haven't heard from yet. Please, I hope you all will just jump right in and ask all the questions you want. Someone will help you out here.

Sherrie, I'm so sorry you are going through all of this. I'm sure all of us relate to your story. It sounds to me like the pain in your throat by your rib cage is your tyroid cartilage. I don't know and i'm no doctor. I know if I press on my cartilage there, over your adams apple and down, it is very painful. Have you gone to our Foundation site at www.polychondritis.org? If not, you should. You will find articles there that might help. Copy them and take them to your rheumy. There is Dr. Karin Harp's article under " links" and then click emedicine. Dr. Buckner and Dr. Trenthams articles are under "Information" or "Articles".

It is so hard to know what to ask. Also look at our Brochure at the site. If you would like us to send you some Brochures to give to your drs. please just let me know and i will send you some.

I was on Vioxx and pred at first and it just didn't stop my flares. They had to add methotrexate to the pred. We are all different and all take a mixture of different drugs that help us. Right now I'm on pred and Plaquenil. This does not work for some and as you will see there are a lot lof different options. I think metho and Imuran are the drugs of choice along with the prednisone. Then there is Cytoxon, Remicade, Arava etc. The list goes on. Don't give up hope. Caught early and with the right medications RP can be controled. Remembe with each flare some damage can be done, so you will want to get on the right medications as soon as you can.

Please keep asking questions and sharing your experiences with us. This is how we all learn.

We do have other members in Michigan. Maybe they could help you with a rheumy that knows about RP.