Jump to content
RemedySpot.com

Re: Regarding Rice Dream Milk & Trader Joe's Rice Milk

Rate this topic


Guest guest

Recommended Posts

I just read the side panel of Trader Joe's rice milk & it states that it IS

made on equipment that processes wheat, milk, soy, nuts & fish.

[ ] Re: Get Milk (Regarding Rice Dream Milk)

<mailto: %40>

Date: Monday, November 10, 2008, 4:11 PM

on my carton of RIce milk it says gluten free..has the symbol for it.

is this not true??? we use the lactose free, vanilla flavored

fortified one

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi Yvette,

I know, it's tricky and if they can state that it is " gluten free " when it is

processed on equipment shared with wheat, it does tell you something about how

serious the gluten free labels can be. There may always be trace elements there,

as long as they are not specifically cultured on gluten products, like the

barley culture for Rice Dream --What were they thinking? ---I'll tell you they

were thinking their customers were just lactose intolerant that's what it is and

it took them a while to figure out they had the gluten free.casein free

population to prepare for.  I'm afraid there are very few companies that take

the allergy/intolerance stuff seriously enough to dedicate a full production

line only to those products.

It is normally only the very few that cater specifically to these populations

and even here you will often see they exclude gluten from their production line,

but not soy, or not milk, or not corn, or eggs.  There's always something.

So the contamination from the production line is hopefully minimal, enough to

allow them to call it gluten free  for now. She has about 4-6 oz of rice milk

with her rice puffs cereal, --often times also processed on equipment shared

with soy wheat etc. even though it is labeled gluten free-- I buy a cheaper

brand not the very strict gluten free that costs 4-5 times more and she seems OK

with just this cereal and rice milk--not behavioral issues out of the ordinary,

progress was good, and of course now we know what happens when she does get

gluten and dairy--don't ever want to do that again, so we think for her needs

this is an acceptable amount.

I guess if there was an immune response that was immediate and put the sensitive

individuals into a state of shock, more care would be taken as it is with

peanuts, sesame and other highly reactive type foods.  But gluten kills slowly

and the care is just not there it see,ms.  We look for gluten free, call the

manufacturer when it is unclear, but ultimately have to deal with what's on the

market unless you make it yourself as some have suggested, but rice is tricky,

goes bad fast, gets fungi and bacteria and I would not have the time to do it to

be honest, nor the guarantee that it would be better for her given the risk of

fungi and bacteria which all starches are so prone to and i do not have the

sterile equipment, gosh, i'd have to boil rice and do this every day and i just

can't fit it in. .

We can't do almond milk either, she reacts to almonds, and we're not sure about

the hemp, but she doesn't like the flavor, and those too are often made on

equipment shared with wheat etc.  ---if they weren't they would end up costing

2-3 times more and they cost enough as it is.  So that's why getting your kid

off processed foods in general is the best option--you know just eating foods

you prepare in the home, whole foods, cooked or raw, but as little processed as

possible. We mostly eat the rice milk, cereal and bread for breakfast and

lunches, but on weekends or for dinners all is cooked in the home--oh, with the

exception of the chicken franks and sausages or turkey bacon that is also

minimally processed, but no dairy, wheat/gluten, nitrates etc. We do the best we

can and everyone kind of reaches a level beyond which they feel they are

satisfied and it works for them.   Hope this helps.

Elena

From: Krissy <scraphappykrissy@ <mailto:scraphappykrissy%40>

>

Subject: [ ] Re: Get Milk (Regarding Rice Dream Milk)

<mailto: %40>

Date: Monday, November 10, 2008, 4:11 PM

on my carton of RIce milk it says gluten free..has the symbol for it.

is this not true??? we use the lactose free, vanilla flavored

fortified one

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Thing is there are valid ways of knowing how concerned you must be

about gluten and there is good reason to find out. By blood test

(celiac panel) and genetic test (DQ1, 2 and 8).

Below is what happens in a celiac. It is part of a letter written to

a church about a host issue. I am using this not to open the church

thing, as I am Catholic myself, but because the author says what I

see so many ignoring on these boards. A child with a genuine gluten

issue may get better cognitively even but other problems await if you

do not stick to the diet. It has been suggested to me that metal

removal solves this. I do not know. It would be great if that were

so. I do not have the luxury of testing that with multiple fillings.

I hope to have them out before my kids start cheating.

" Someone with celiac " responds " to gluten when damage to the

intestines has already occurred. Flesher is consuming this host and

is " not responding " because she has maintained a gluten-/free/ diet.

At some point, she will " respond " again because this host has damaged

her intestines. Repeatedly damaging the intestines not only will

cause them to become dysfunctional (due to scarring and loss of

villi; which can cause lactose intolerance and other non-absorption

issues such as iron deficiency) but can lead to cancer of the

intestines.

Other associated conditions are osteoporosis, infertility and other

autoimmune and thyroid disorders.

After ingesting gluten, your body responds with an /immune/ response

which means that your immune system is fighting the gluten and is in

a /depressed/ state. It means your immune system will have a weaker

reaction to viruses, bacteria, etc. This is not a one-time allergic

response to something; this is an immune system response to an

invader in the system. The body responds with T-cells to fight the

foreign invader. This is serious.

Knowing this, I repeat, I would never ingest a host that has wheat in

it. A gluten-free diet means exactly that, gluten-free. This is a

medically restricted diet. It must be adhered to. "

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...