Guest guest Posted December 8, 2008 Report Share Posted December 8, 2008 It's been a while since I read their box but it used to have pea protein. So for those allergic to soy, it is out. West Soy Rice Milk is more expensive but for sure soy, GFCF. Tammy Rice Dream now claims to be gluten free I did not know this but just in case others didn't either, see below for account of recent contact with the company. Lori Knowles General Manager New Beginnings Nutritionals 7797 Quivira Rd Lenexa, KS 66215 Phone: (913) 754-0458 Fax: (913) 248-7609 Email: lknowles@... URL: http://www.nbnus.com/ Just wanted to follow up on our conversation about Rice Dream containing Barley Malt. First off, thank you Lori for the tip. I called the company and discussed the ingredients with them. Last year, they had printed on the box (not in the ingredients) that the product might contain less than .001% gluten. Since that time, they have tested the product for gluten and now print on the box that it is 100% gluten free as this is what their tests revealed. The person I spoke with explained that the rice is processed with Barley Malt but by the time the finished product is packaged any possible traces of gluten are gone. She explained to me that the chances of gluten being in the product were always minuscule but because of the number of people using it and expecting it to be gluten free they underwent the cost and process of having it tested. So, I am happy to say, it is a wonderful gluten-free dairy replacement after all Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 8, 2008 Report Share Posted December 8, 2008 Are you saying there's soy protein in Rice Dream rice milk? Rice does have a bit of protein in it natuarlly. Every food has protein except for sugar and water (and other synthetic products). On Mon, Dec 8, 2008 at 7:23 PM, Tammy Kuhn <tkuhn1@...> wrote: > It's been a while since I read their box but it used to have pea protein. > So for those allergic to soy, it is out. > > West Soy Rice Milk is more expensive but for sure soy, GFCF. > > Tammy > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest guest Posted December 8, 2008 Report Share Posted December 8, 2008 Like I said, it's been years since I've read the label. Pea protein if memory serves me correct. Peas are part of the legume family so if allergic to soy, for us all legumes, beans, peanuts are out. Some allergic to peanut can tolerate soy. Not my son. Soy/peanut is his worst allergens. As a toddler, he couldn't tolerate Rice Dream, that was it. It took us a while to figure it out because he did eat peas and green beans now and again until those gave him issues too. Tammy Re: Rice Dream now claims to be gluten free Are you saying there's soy protein in Rice Dream rice milk? Rice does have a bit of protein in it natuarlly. Every food has protein except for sugar and water (and other synthetic products). On Mon, Dec 8, 2008 at 7:23 PM, Tammy Kuhn <tkuhn1@...> wrote: > It's been a while since I read their box but it used to have pea protein. > So for those allergic to soy, it is out. > > West Soy Rice Milk is more expensive but for sure soy, GFCF. > > Tammy > Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.